Sunset Sound Recorders YT: "10x Grammy Producer & Engineer. Joe Chiccarelli : The Interview" (January 16, 2023)

Screenshot_20230116-184426.png

"...but soon it explains what it means by 'the Funky Alfonso'"
Regards,
FWD.

Morrissey discussed from 2:10:50 - information via @BrokenFrame.

Last edited:
These guys are all about good music.
That's why they love and respect Moz.
Most of these folks who throw so much hate at
Moz are more interested in followin' political rules
of thinkin', that coincide with their political agenda.
For a lot of folks, politics is their religion.

Joe’s been backing Moz for the best part of a decade and has helped him get multiple projects out - good for him

I don’t think he sucks as a producer I just think The catchy melodic hooks mostly related to the older Morrissey sound and records aren’t as plentiful like they used to be. In my opinion just like The Smith’s catalog, most M records up to about Quarry were so strong that any song on those albums could have been released as a single. They were all that strong of releases. That hasn’t always been the case in recent years which are associated with Joe C.

Joe Chiccarelli's production is over slick, over polished, musical homogenization taken to ridiculous extremes. Pair him up with a guy that thinks everything he does is sheer genius, and who won't listen to what anybody else says, and you get predictably uneven albums.

i like joes style,very clean sound with the voice upfront in the mix,he also has a good working relationship with M.

We have always found his production fussy and, in places, tone-deaf to the hooks of a genuinely great melody.