Recipes - post them here

merz

❤❤❤❤
I've noticed that there are a bunch of people who I'd consider to be "Foodies", so I thought I'd start a thread where we can post recipes & recipe reviews, etc!

I'm a part time Pastry Chef, so I love baking, cake decorating, sugar craft, etc.

One of my favourite fool proof recipes is for the French fluffy lemony morsels of delight that are Madeleines.

*Note: The resting period is critical for texture & rising.

INGREDIENTS

• 40 g unsalted butter, chopped
  • 100 g (¾ cup) plain flour
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • 100 g caster sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1½ tbsp milk
  • 1 vanilla pod, seeds scraped
  • 1 lemon, zested
  • softened butter, for brushing
  • melted butter and caster sugar for serving (optional)

Melt the chopped butter in a small saucepan over high heat and cook until nut brown.
Sift the flour, baking powder and sugar into a bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk the egg with the milk. Pour this into the flour mixture and whisk until combined, then add the vanilla seeds and whisk again. Gradually pour in the browned butter and whisk well, then whisk in the lemon zest. Allow the mixture to rest for 1–2 hours in the refrigerator.
Preheat the oven to 170°C. Brush softened butter into the madeleine moulds, coating well. Spoon or pipe the mixture into the moulds and bake for 6–10 minutes, or until golden.
Tap the madeleines out of the moulds onto a rack to cool briefly. Serve dipped in melted butter and caster sugar if desired.

Last edited:
Re: Recipes -post them here!

great idea for a thread :)
just wondering, would it be a complete disaster if I substituted "margarine" for butter and tried this?
only say this cuz "real butter" can be hard to find here or real expensive :o

just wondering, would it be a complete disaster if I substituted "margarine" for butter and tried this?