Re-living the Smiths

Still Tired

as it were...
I’m pretty new to Morrissey having only bought my first Smiths album back in February and it’s pretty scary to look at how big my collection has grown since then, (I’m guessing that’s not what a student loan is really for!) Anyway, I had pretty little knowledge of the Smiths, I was a lot more aware of the solo Morrissey, although I only remembered odd snippets of videos I’d seen over the years. So I’ve been playing catch-up in a big way these past few months and it’s a really odd experience. I think because I have no memories of my own of the Smiths, my only image of what they were like and how they were perceived is through second-hand recollection, however reliable or prejudiced they may/ may not be. I have a few books now: Morrissey by David Bret, Saint Morrissey, Songs That Saved Your Life, and the Smiths Visual Documentary, and each one presents a differing image of that whole era. It’s odd because I’m trying to gain a general over-view of what the Smiths were and the impact they had, but each history I’m presented with has to be cross-referenced and somehow sequenced together with all the other bits I’ve read. In a way, the Smiths could be completely fictional, how do I know which is the truth?! I’m probably just sounding completely paranoid now, but I just find it quite fascinating to be in this situation where I’ve just completely un-earthed this whole part of culture I never knew existed and I’m trying to get a grasp on it, trying to make my own interpretation of it.