Morrissey Central: "New Morrissey Album" - 'I Am Not A Dog On A Chain' (November 28, 2019)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Famous when dead, Nov 28, 2019.

By Famous when dead on Nov 28, 2019 at 12:25 AM
  1. Famous when dead

    Famous when dead Vulgarian Moderator

    Dec 7, 2000
    Birmingham, U.K.

    Morrissey's new studio album, I Am Not A Dog On A Chain, is scheduled for March 2020 release by BMG. The album was recorded in St-remy, France, with producer Joe Chiccarelli. The eleven tracks are:

    Jim Jim Falls
    Love Is On Its Way Out
    Bobby, Don't You Think They Know?
    I Am Not A Dog On A Chain
    What Kind Of People Live In These Houses?
    Knockabout World
    Darling, I Hug A Pillow
    Once I Saw The River Clean
    The Truth About Ruth
    The Secret Of Music
    My Hurling Days Are Done

    Morrissey has described I Am Not A Dog On A Chain as:

    " … the very best of me … too good to be true … too true to be considered good … ", and concludes Morrissey's contract with BMG Records.

    The first single is "Bobby, Don't You Think They Know?", which features vocals by Thelma Houston. The B-side is "Rainbow Valley", a cover of the UK hit by The Love Affair.

    BMG will re-issue and re-master several Morrissey albums in 2020, with updated artwork and sleeve notes. These albums are: Southpaw Grammar, Maladjusted, You Are The Quarry, Ringleader Of The Tormentors, Years Of Refusal, Live At The Hollwood Bowl.

    Morrissey has so far achieved 24 Top Ten albums in the UK - 14 solo, 10 with The Smiths. His highest U.S. chart position was this year with "California Son" at number 7.

    This information provided by Rod Taylor.

    The Secret Of Music mystery solved.
    Rainbow Valley appears again.
    Reissues could be promising.
    Is that a Loyd Grossman reference in the tracklist!?

    Media coverage:
    • Like Like x 11
    • Informative Informative x 2


Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Famous when dead, Nov 28, 2019.

    1. Anonymous
      It will be a childish, artless shambles. Cover and statement say it all.
      • Like Like x 1
      • Dislike Dislike x 1
      • Funny Funny x 1
    2. Anonymous
      And I’ll predict: you won’t go to one single gig but tell us all on here how great they were.
    3. Anonymous
      • Like Like x 1
    4. Surface
      • Like Like x 1
      • Troll Troll x 1
    5. gordyboy9
      if its the same tired ritual from M then what does this say about you,same tired ritual over and over.
      • Like Like x 1
    6. Anonymous
      Ah, so you're being selective now on what you believe? Got it.
      • Funny Funny x 1
    7. gordyboy9
      don't fancy sitting across the table from you on xmas day,negative, negative, negative.
      • Like Like x 1
      • Funny Funny x 1
    8. gordyboy9
      then I must be abetting white supremacy then,now where did I leave my hood,fool.
      finally get to hear rainbow valley.
    9. Nerak
      The album was written & recorded while he was in the middle of this meltdown - so I expect it to be a continuation. Hopefully it doesn't have some lyric that gets him into trouble... I would never count him out forever until he's dead, but he does need to get out of this rut he's in.
    10. Anonymous
      What meltdown are you on about? You don't know anything really, apart from what's in your head.
      You seem to continuously over-analyse, & over-dramatise to the point of extreme annoyance; seems like it's your nature. Maybe you're in a rut of your own, & need to get out of it yourself.
      Just wait until it comes out, then make a judgement, if you still feel the need.
      • Insightful Insightful x 1
    11. Anonymous
      Just 100% woofter.
    12. Anonymous
    13. Surface
      • Like Like x 1
      • Troll Troll x 1
    14. Surface
      Fine by me, however - is Morrissey's comment regarding California Son’s US chart position accurate?
      • Troll Troll x 1
    15. Mozmar
      Great news about the new album, looking forward to it. Not sure I like the title though...some cryptic message therein no doubt.
      Remastered versions of Maladjusted & Southpaw will be interesting; I hope they'll include some previously unreleased stuff. That said, I have 2 versions of both which differ from the originals.
      I prefer Maladjusted legacy version to the original, & same goes for the Southpaw legacy version.
      • Like Like x 2
    16. Anonymous
      The worst album title ever and some really bad song titles too .
      • Funny Funny x 1
    17. Phranc & Open
      Phranc & Open
      Bring back "Papa Jack".
      • Like Like x 6
    18. Anonymous
      why would he reissue and remaster Southpaw and Maladjusted? . They have already had that treatment not so long ago with bonus tracks etc . I guess a lot of this is probably a case of watch it not happen . The new album will probably limp out but I can't see BMG reissuing all of those other records . After all the bad press and ridiculous statements I am sure they will be happy to distance themselves from him as fast as they can
      • Dislike Dislike x 2
    19. Mozmar
      I actually love that track.
      If you read the lyrics, it's quite a sad story which actually reminds me of the meaning behind Harry Chapin's brilliant 'Cats in the Cradle' of those songs which makes the hairs on your arms stand up.
      • Like Like x 3
    20. Anonymous
      This could have been significant if he had kept his Brietbart loving mouth shut. As it is the announcement of a new album is lost in the noise of his politics.

      I do like some of the titles but will never lower myself to listen to any of them.

      Someone mentioned a possible tour to support the album? If he decides to play the UK expect 'intimate' venues and, of course, cancellations
      • Dislike Dislike x 3
      • Like Like x 1
      • Redundant Redundant x 1

Share This Page