Leonard Cohen honored with The Recording Academy® Lifetime Achievement Award

The Seeker of Good Songs

Well-Known Member
The Recording Academy® announcedits Special Merit Awards today, and this year's recipients include: Leonard Cohen, Bobby Darin, David "Honeyboy" Edwards, Michael Jackson, Loretta Lynn, André Previn,and Clark Terry as Lifetime Achievement Award honorees; Harold Bradley, Florence Greenberg and Walter C. Miller as Trustees Award honorees; and AKG and Thomas Alva Edison as Technical GRAMMY® Award honorees. The special invitation-only ceremony will be held during GRAMMY Week on Saturday, Jan. 30, 2010, and a formal acknowledgment will be made during the 52nd Annual GRAMMY Awards telecast, which will be held at STAPLES Center in Los Angeles on Sunday, Jan. 31, 2010, and broadcast live at 8 p.m. ET/PT on the CBS Television Network.
"This year's honorees are a prestigious group of diverse and prominent creators who have contributed some of the most distinguished and influential recordings," said Recording Academy President/CEO Neil Portnow. "Their outstanding accomplishments and passion for their craft have created a timeless legacy that has positively affected multiple generations, and will continue to influence generations to come. It is an honor and privilege to recognize such talented individuals who have had and will continue to have such an influence in both our culture and the music industry."

With a career that has spanned four decades and 18 albums, singer/songwriter Leonard Cohen has worked with the likes of such artists as Elton John, Willie Nelson, Neil Diamond, and Iggy Pop. He has garnered a number of awards including an induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and just recently won a GRAMMY Award for his participation on the album Herbie Hancock: The Joni Letters, which wonAlbum Of The Year at the 50th Annual GRAMMYs. This past February, Cohen launched an international tour that began with the reopening of the legendary New York City Beacon Theater.

full story at: http://www.benzinga.com/press-relea...oneyboy-edwards-michael-jackson-loretta-lynn-
Top Bottom