Jesus And Mary Chain - Power Of Negative Thinking - Box set rarities

The Seeker of Good Songs

Well-Known Member
[FONT=Georgia, Times]SCHEDULED FOR RELEASE September 30, 2008[/FONT]

One of the most important U.K. bands of the last 25 years, Jesus And Mary Chain formed in East Kilbride, Scotland in 1983. They created a new intersection of noise and pop, draping curtains of guitar distortion over melodies worthy of The Ronettes or The Beach Boys.

4-CD boxed set presents 81 rarities, including 8 previously unreleased tracks. Spanning 1983-1998, selections are arranged chronologically.

Opens with the previously unreleased Up Too High, a Darklands-esque rarity recorded on cassette in 1983, and closes with Nineteen666 from their late '90s Sub Pop era. Other previously unissued gems include an alternate version of Never Understand, demos of My Little Underground and The Living End and the unheard song Walk And Crawl (all from the Psychocandy era) as well as three Stoned And Dethroned-era discoveries including the lost song Till I Found You.

Highlights also include their 1984 debut Creation single (Upside Down b/w Vegetable Man), an acoustic version of Teenage Lust, Bo Diddley Is Jesus, and much more.

Deluxe box packaged in a 6" x 10" gatefold shell. Booklet features new interviews with Jim and William Reid, rare photos, and an 18" x 24" double-sided poster featuring a hand-drawn JAMC "family tree."

Disc One
1. Up Too High (Demo '83)
2. Upside Down
3. Vegetable Man
4. Suck
5. Ambition
6. Just Out of Reach
7. Boyfriend's Dead
8. Head
9. Just Like Honey (Demo Oct. '84)
10. Cracked
11. Taste of Cindy (Acoustic Version)
12. The Hardest Walk
13. Never Understand (Alternate)
14. My Little Underground (Demo)
15. The Living End (Demo)
16. Some Candy Talking
17. Psychocandy
18. Hit
19. Cut Dead (Acoustic)
20. You Trip Me Up (Acoustic)
21. Walk and Crawl

Disc Two
1. Kill Surf City
2. Bo Diddley is Jesus
3. Who Do You Love
4. Everything's Alright When You're Down
5. Shake
6. Happy When It Rains (Demo)
7. Happy Place
8. F.Hole
9. Rider
10. On the Wall (Porta Studio Demo)
11. Surfin' USA (April Out-Take)
12. Here It Comes Again
13. Don't Ever Change
14. Swing
15. Sidewalking
16. Surfin' USA (Summer Mix)
17. Shimmer
18. Penetration
19. Break Me Down
20. Subway
21. My Girl

Disc Three
1. In the Black
2. Terminal Beach
3. Deviant Slice
4. I'm Glad I Never
5. Drop (Acoustic Re-Mix)
6. Rollercoaster
7. Silverblade
8. Lowlife
9. Tower of Song
10. Heat
11. Guitarman
12. Why'd You Want Me
13. Sometimes
14. Teenage Lust (Acoustic Version)
15. Reverberation (Doubt)
16. Don't Come Down
17. Snakedriver
18. Something I Can't Have
19. Write Record Release Blues
20. Little Red Rooster

Disc Four
1. The Perfect Crime
2. Little Stars
3. Drop (Re-Recorded)
4. I'm In With the Out Crowd
5. New York City
6. Taking It Away
7. Ghost of a Smile
8. Alphabet Street
9. Coast To Coast (Alternate - William Vox)
10. Dirty Water (Demo - William Vox)
11. Till I Found You
12. Bleed Me
13. 33 1/3
14. Lost Star
15. Hide Myself
16. Rocket
17. Easylife, Easylove
18. 40.000k
19. Nineteen666


New Member
I really really like Jesus & Mary Chain. "Psychocandy" & "Darklands" are GREAT records...but I just could not imagine myself listening through a 4-CD set of rarities.....JAMC are quite heavy going.....Much better in more moderate doses!

Great news though!


New Member
By the way, their 1st single "Upside down" is on the JAMC Best of Compilation CD "21 Singles". Currently selling for £3.99 in HMV.
Top Bottom