How I Became A Music Pirate

The Seeker of Good Songs

http://consumerist.com/consumer/drm/how-i-became-a-music-pirate-245644.php

Does DRM drive even honest well-meaning people to piracy? Yes, of course it does.

Reader and music lover Jarrett tried to send the following "detailed, passionate complaint letter" to Rhino, but their only reply was:
450 Server configuration problem​
Good for us, because Jerrett decided to send his letter to us. So, without delay, here is "How I Become A Music Pirate" by Jarrett.

Jarrett writes:
How I Became A Music PirateI thought I was the music industry's dream consumer.​

As a 40 year old male with a long-standing passion for "all things music," I've spent a bundle on my collection. In college most of my waking hours were spent wandering around record stores, swap meets and record conventions, much to the dismay of the women I was ostensibly dating. Then again, the fact that I also worked as a DJ at the radio station and hung out with obsessive record collector types probably didn't help matters in the romance department.​

Then while in grad school in the 1990s, I became busy replacing many of my vinyl releases with CD's. At the same time, entrepreneurial music industry types began to exploit the market for out-of-print recordings by reissuing long out-of-print records on CD formats, which of course I instantly snapped up.​

So here I sit circa 2007 with a house filled with over 1000 vinyl records and around 800 CD's. If you figure about $12 per recording as an accurate average, that's somewhere around $20,000. Not a bad chunk of change for the music business, I say.​