Does anyone talk about Morrissey so much (without even meaning to) that it pisses people off?

• Thread starter Chill -- Soon to be a jumped up pantry girl
  • Start date
C

Chill -- Soon to be a jumped up pantry girl

When I first got into Morrissey, he was all I talked about. That's natural though. Then, annoyed at all the haters, I made a conscious effort not to talk about him to anyone other than fellow fans.

Now all of a sudden, I mention him in almost every damn conversation I have, even if I don't mean to. His words and experiences always seem relevant to the things I'm studying as well and so his name pops up in class discussions. In one class, we read "Among The Thugs" by Bill Buford and I brought the professor some lyrics to Morrissey songs that deal with hooliganism, racism and nationalism. Fortunately, he's a super cool guy and loved the lyrics and even xeroxed them for the entire class. It's getting really bad though. During lectures, if an idea is raised that reminds me of a Morrissey quote, I write it down in my notes. Almost everything triggers such a reaction. I think people are starting to get annoyed with me. But you know something? I almost like it. It's like I'm falling in love with Morrissey all over again, even though I never fell out of love with him. It's almost like the honeymoon phase has begun again.

Also, as a side note, the subject of the British press and its hysteria came up during our discussion of hooliganism. Somehow that led to a discussion of the British press in general and I brought up the Morrissey/NME/Union Jack scandal. The professor was able to sympathize with Morrissey. Apparently, one of his books about pedophilia was banned in the UK because the censors thought he was condoning it or something. I should play "Reel Around The Fountain" and "The Hand That Rocks The Cradle" for this guy!

ALL THE f***ING TIME!!!!!!

My rabid love of Moz/The Smiths is even starting to turn some of my friends who like his music. Oops.