"California Son" details ft. Grizzly Bear's Ed Droste, Green Day's Billie Joe Armstrong, more

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by RobLand, Feb 26, 2019.

By RobLand on Feb 26, 2019 at 3:01 PM
  1. RobLand

    RobLand Visitor since 1997

    Feb 14, 2007
    Asheville, NC
    Morrissey Details New Album Ft. Grizzly Bear’s Ed Droste, Green Day’s Billie Joe Armstrong, More - Pitchfork
    The covers record, California Son, also features contributions from Broken Social Scene’s Ariel Engle, Petra Haden, more


    Morrissey has detailed his new covers album California Love. The 12-track record is out May 24 via Etienne (Morrissey’s BMG imprint). Below, hear Moz’s cover of Roy Orbison’s “It’s Over,” featuring backing vocals by LP.

    California Son, produced by Joe Chiccarelli, features a number of guests: Grizzly Bear’s Ed Droste, Broken Social Scene’s Ariel Engle, Green Day’s Billie Joe Armstrong, Petra Haden, Young the Giant’s Sameer Gadhia, the Regrette’s Lydia Night, and LP. Find the tracklist below.

    California Son:

    01 Morning Starship (Jobriath cover) [ft. Ed Droste]
    02 Don’t Interrupt the Sorrow (Joni Mitchell cover) [ft. Ariel Engle]
    03 Only a Pawn in Their Game (Bob Dylan cover) [ft. Petra Haden]
    04 Suffer the Little Children (Buffy Sainte-Marie cover)
    05 Days of Decisions (Phil Ochs cover) [ft. Sameer Gadhia]
    06 It’s Over (Roy Orbison cover) [ft. LP]
    07 Wedding Bell Blues (The Fifth Dimension cover) [ft. Billie Joe Armstrong and Lydia Night]
    08 Loneliness Remembers What Happiness Forgets (Dionne Warwick cover)
    09 Lady Willpower (Gary Puckett cover)
    10 When You Close Your Eyes (Carly Simon cover) [ft. Petra Haden]
    11 Lenny’s Tune (Tim Hardin cover)
    12 Some Say I Got Devil (Melanie cover)

    Grizzly Bear’s Ed Droste (David A. Smith/Getty Images), Morrissey (Brill\ullstein bild via Getty Images), Green Day’s Billie Joe Armstrong (Michael Kovac/Getty Images)

    Link to Shore Fire Media press release posted by an anonymous person (original post):

    Morrissey Unveils Momentous Collection of 1960/70s Classic Covers - 'California Son' Out May 24th on Etienne Records/BMG - Shore Fire Media
    The Britpop icon’s latest will include performances with members of Green Day, The Regrettes, Grizzly Bear, Young the Giant, LP and more for the 12-song effort

    Quotes from the press release:

    "We love Morrissey! Morrissey's hair, and melancholy and poetic lyrics always reminded me of my dad. His version of “It’s Over” is great." - Roy Orbison, Jr.

    “When I would think of Morrissey and his music it was always with great respect and appreciation as I’m sure is the case with many of his fans. However, I soon realized when I hung out with him and he played me all the songs he was putting on this record that behind this was the heart of an audiophile and a deep fan of his own musical heroes. He is well versed in so many genres and knows deep cuts of artists I thought I knew so much about. It is inspiring to see the enthusiasm and intellect he brings to people through his own musical journey." – LP

    UPDATE 2:40 PM PT:

    Link posted by Ugly Devil:

    Why are these alt-rock musicians suddenly lining up behind Morrissey? - Fader
    He’s offered his support to far-right groups, defended alleged sexual predators, and attacked the press for reporting on it. Somehow, his new album is studded with alt-rock stars.

    Link posted by Famous when dead:

    California Son - Morrissey Central (26 Feb, 2019)
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 27, 2019
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1


Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by RobLand, Feb 26, 2019.

Share This Page