Unofficial site features news, tour dates, information and fan forums focusing on the world of Morrissey and The Smiths

Morrissey Covers the Pretenders’ ‘Back on the Chain Gang,’ Talks ‘Pop Classic’ - Rolling Stone
“It’s a pop classic,” singer says. “Of the brain as well as the loins”
By Kory Grow


"When Morrissey decided to cover the Pretenders’ “Back on the Chain Gang” for an upcoming double-vinyl reissue of his Low in High School album, he wanted to play it loose with the lyrics. “I didn’t ever see the lyrics correctly printed because I wanted to sing them as I had always thought they were,” he tells Rolling Stone via e-mail. “This is tricky with [Pretenders singer] Chrissie [Hynde] because sometimes she’ll sing into a misty wobble. So, I decided to wobble also.”

Other than a few switched-up...
Post your info and reviews related to this concert in the comments section below. Other links (photos, external reviews, etc.) related to this concert will also be compiled in this section as they are sent in.
Morrissey was interviewed for Estado de São Paulo and told about a re-issue of WPINOYB and a new album to be recorded in january.

Morrissey, antigo líder do grupo The Smiths, volta a São Paulo com novo álbum - Estadão
Inglês de 59 anos se apresenta com sua banda em São Paulo, dia 2 de dezembro, no Espaço das Américas
Pedro Antunes, O Estado de S.Paulo
31 Outubro 2018 | 06h00

Translation added by Famous when dead:

It doesn't read that well with translate, but this is what emerges:

"More on account of his own language than his heart, Steven Patrick Morrissey has become a subject of another time. Just like a veteran of a war that ended - or was. As a leader and lyricist for The Smiths, a...
Low in High School (Deluxe Edition)

  • Vinyl (December 7, 2018)
  • Deluxe Edition edition
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: BMG Rights Management (UK) Ltd
  • ASIN: B07JK2C8YT
Track Listings
Disc: 1
1. My Love, I'd Do Anything for You
2. I Wish You Lonely
3. Jacky's Only Happy When She's Up on the Stage
4. Home Is a Question Mark
5. Spent the Day in Bed
6. I Bury the Living

Disc: 2
1. In Your Lap
2. The Girl from Tel-Aviv Who Wouldn't Kneel
3. All the Young People Must Fall in Love
4. When You Open Your Legs
5. Who Will Protect Us from the Police?
6. Israel

Disc: 3
1. Lover-To-Be
2. Back on the Chain Gang
3. Never Again Will I Be a Twin
4. This Song Doesn't End When It's Over

Disc: 4
1. You'll Be Gone (Live)
2. Rose Garden (Live at The Grand...
Shoplifterromo writes:

Just checked out Jonah Hill’s directorial debut, “Mid90s”, and was surprised to see a Smiths poster in a bedroom scene and was thrilled to hear Morrissey’s “We’ll Let You Know” during an extended skate scene. As for the film itself, props to Mr. Hill for directing and writing a wonderful piece on old Moz favorites like isolation and wanting.

Related item:

A bit unexpected given the amount of time passed, but I'd love some prints from this. Andrew Catlin's photography has featured here before in the 'frink' thread IIRC.
Via translate:
Morrissey announces new album, 'California Son', for March 2019.
The album will have twelve tracks and was recorded by the same producer of The Strokes and U2.

João Perassolo
João Paulo Martins
Singer-songwriter Morrissey, a former lead singer of the English band The Smiths , first laid out details of their new album, which will be released in March 2019.

In an interview with Folha , the British said that the album will be called "California Son" and will bring twelve songs written by a collection of American composers.

The album was produced by Joe Chicarelli - who has worked with names like The Strokes, U2 and Elton John - and recorded at the famous Sunset Sound studio in Los Angeles. "Joe brought in a lot of new musicians and we experimented with a lot of sounds. Everything went...