Jamie OliVer SilenceR of the Poor DefenceleSS lamB

D

darKesT staR

JAMIE Oliver was slammed by animal welfare campaigners yesterday for killing a lamb on his TV show.

Millions of viewers saw the chef cut the animal's throat in Jamie's Great Escape on Wednesday. The lamb had its legs tied - but it was not stunned first.

Advocates for Animals said Jamie should be "thoroughly ashamed".
It added: "Slitting a lamb's throat while it is fully conscious will undoubtedly cause terrible suffering. "It is widely acknowledged that the most humane way is for them to be stunned before killing. This kind of brutal slaughter shows no compassion or respect for the poor animal."

Jamie - whose Channel 4 series is filmed in Italy - killed and cooked the lamb for a feast on a farm. Clearly apprehensive before doing so he said: "I do not know if I can do it ... I have never done that before. Not with a knife anyway."

Jamie grimaced as he killed the animal, adding: "A chef who's cooked 2,000 sheep should kill at least one, otherwise you're a fake." Then he helped skin it. Philip Lymberg, chief executive of Compassion in World Farming, said: "Jamie could have caused unnecessary pain and suffering by being involved.

"Under EU law the animal should have been stunned before slaughter to render it senseless to the pain."

But People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals praised the programme for showing the brutality that exists in Britain's slaughterhouses.Spokesman Sean Gifford said: "We wish this kind of thing was shown more often. It could turn the more diehard carnivore into a vegetarian.

"In slaughterhouses the stun gun method is ineffective - handlers often miss the mark and animals remain conscious. Showing this scene can hit the message home of this cruelty."

Andrew Tyler, director of Animal Aid, agreed: "I'm not convinced stunning the animal works so in some ways it's a good thing that Jamie and the viewers saw what it means to cut an animal's throat."