An ignorant American wants to know

J

Jessesamuel

Why does Moz want people to spit on the name of Oliver Cromwell? Wasn't he anti-royalist? Isn't Moz anti-monarchy too? Please enlighten me.

> Why does Moz want people to spit on the name of Oliver Cromwell? Wasn't he
> anti-royalist? Isn't Moz anti-monarchy too? Please enlighten me.

I'm not an expert on the subject, but I do know that he was responsble for murdering a lot of Irish.

It's easy to find information on him online, if you're not as lazy as I am right now.

Oliver Cromwell was a "king-killer," however, he was practically a king himself. The thing was, the English by and large were not against the idea of kings. They just didn't approve, for the most part, of Charles's tolerance of Catholics and some of his other policies. It was one of those, "We don't hate the king. We just hate his evil advisors" things" as well. Cromwell, however, was very anti-Catholic and was responsible for the slaughter of Catholics in Ireland. His reign resembled a dictatorship as well as a hereditary monarchy (his son succeeded him). In other words, he didn't really stand for the ideals for which he is often credited with representing.

> Oliver Cromwell was a "king-killer," however, he was practically
> a king himself.

Yeah, didn't he like reject being king but then, as "Lord Protector", gave himself even more power than a king? Or something like that!

>The thing was, the English by and large were not against
> the idea of kings. They just didn't approve, for the most part, of
> Charles's tolerance of Catholics and some of his other policies. It was
> one of those, "We don't hate the king. We just hate his evil
> advisors" things" as well. Cromwell, however, was very
> anti-Catholic and was responsible for the slaughter of Catholics in
> Ireland. His reign resembled a dictatorship as well as a hereditary
> monarchy (his son succeeded him). In other words, he didn't really stand