bowie tribute thread

A

Anonymous

surprised no of the much bigger fans havent done this yet but ill start a bowie tribute thread so people cant post his stuff being songs videos interviews etc to praise or deride but please try and refrain from being childishly mean. if theres an r.e.m. mini fan forim here and a cure honor thread why a bowie tribute memorial thread. and so it goes...

A few days ago, an engineer who worked on the Absolute Beginners soundtrack with Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley uploaded a studio outtake of Bowie doing various impressions of other musical luminaries. It is amazing. His Lou is spot-on and the Springsteen and Iggy bits have me laughing my ass off.

I recognize Springsteen, Tom Waits, Lou Reed, Iggy Pop, and Neil Young, but I'm not sure of the others. There's a couple that sound like they could be either Tom Petty or Marc Bolan.

Last edited by a moderator:
A few days ago, an engineer who worked on the Absolute Beginners soundtrack with Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley uploaded a studio outtake of Bowie doing various impressions of other musical luminaries. It is amazing. His Lou is spot-on and the Springsteen and Iggy bits have me laughing my ass off.

I recognize Springsteen, Tom Waits, Lou Reed, Iggy Pop, and Neil Young, but I'm not sure of the others. There's a couple that sound like they could be either Tom Petty or Marc Bolan.

The second impression is Bolan. It's got to be. Thank you for sharing this. Left me wiping away tears from laughter and sadness. Bittersweet.

0:00 Bruce Springsteen
0:50 Marc Bolan
1:40 Tom Waits
2:30 Lou Reed
3:20 Anthony Newley
4:20 Iggy Pop
5:15 Neil Young

i always thought the white light tour was one of the bravest things he ever did as a performer. that took some guts

This is the version from the movie. The uncut version where he turns into a gust of fire and smoke isn't on Youtube. Maybe I will get around to ripping it. But this is pretty great.

^That's a great cover. Thanks for sharing.